Career Achievement Award

Each year, Rose-Hulman honors alumni with the Career Achievement Award. Recipients of this award have graduated twenty years ago and are selected based on their achievements within their communities and respective professions. Honorees are recognized at the Student Honors and Awards Ceremony held in the spring. The award, formerly known as the Distinguished Young Alumni Award, was renamed in 2003.

2014 Recipients

Greg Hubbard, 1994
Chief Engineer, EREV & HEV Propulsion Systems, General Motors

Greg was recently appointed Chief Engineer for Extended Range Electric Vehicle (EREV) and Hybrid (HEV) propulsion systems used in the Chevrolet Volt, Cadillac ELR, and future vehicles.        

Previously, he led the team that provided control systems and software for the Volt, Chevrolet Spark EV, Buick LaCrosse with eAssist, and Cadillac Escalade. While at Allison Transmission, he contributed to control systems for HEV buses and the Chevrolet and GMC pick-ups. He earned a Master’s degree from MIT.          

Greg, his wife Rachael, and their 6 children (Andrew, David, Benjamin, Samuel, Elliana, and Thomas) live in Michigan.

David Olivencia, 1994       
Senior Vice President, Softek

David is an international business strategy and information technology (IT)  executive with diverse leadership experiences achieved within Global 500  organizations and prominent international non-profits. He recently become senior  vice president of Softek, a Mexico-based global provider of process-driven IT  services.

Previously, David was director of IT strategy and planning for Verizon. He led a  team focused on leveraging IT to enable Verizon’s business imperatives. David’s  career has included strategy and IT leadership roles at Oracle, Ford, NTT, and  Accenture.

David is a dynamic speaker on technology’s impact on businesses and corporate  governance and has shared his insights in prominent forums, including the U.S.  Congress, NASDAQ Opening Bell, National Association of Corporate Directors,  NASA, Business Week, and Comcast Newsmakers.

David serves on the Hispanic IT Executive Council, and the Congressional  Hispanic Leadership Institute with 10 members of the U.S. Congress. He was  recognized as one of the most influential hispanics in America by Hispanic  Business Magazine and was selected to Crain’s Detroit Magazine’s 40 under 40.

David is married with three children and enjoys spending his time away from work  in family activities.            
Scott Slisher, 1994
President, Residential and Solutions, AEP Energy Inc.
Scott has worked in business development roles in the energy industry throughout his career.  He is currently working for AEP Energy Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of American Electric Power, as President of Residential and Solutions.  His teams are responsible for the growth and execution of strategy and sales for the residential and large customer opportunities across the Midwest and Midatlantic states.  AEP Energy solutions include deregulated power, natural gas, curtailment services, and energy management.  Prior to AEP Energy, Scott has worked for NiSource, Integrys Energy, Solargenix and had his own business, Sustainable Energy Works.

After obtaining his BSME from Rose-Hulman, Scott completed his MBA from Indiana University in 1998.  He is a registered PE, holds the Chartered Financial Analyst designation, and is LEED AP.  Scott and his wife, Michelle have two children and live in Blacklick, Ohio.
Todd Wilkerson, 1994
Director, Growth Strategies, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause

Todd Wilkerson is a Director in Baker Tilly’s Growth Strategies Practice.  Todd leads solution delivery for the practice, focused on CRM and Customer Experience solutions for clients. Todd has 20 years of experience advising small, medium, and large-sized companies. He has significant industry experience in High Technology (hardware and software; business and consumer) and counts clients across a broad spectrum of other areas such as Life Sciences, Consumer Packaged Goods, Financial Services, and Telecommunications/Meida.

Todd brings deep expertise to business-to-business and business-to-consumer organizations and a practical point of view on customer and go-to-market strategy/innovation, customer experience management, sales and marketing effectiveness, and the application of modern technology and data analytics.

Prior to Baker Tilly, Todd held similar positions with Accenture and Inforte, a boutique consulting organization focused on customer relationship management.

He and his wife Melissa are proud parents of two children (Nicholas and Hillary) and reside in Chicago, IL.

Past Career Achievement Award Recipients


William D. Schindel, '69


Niles Noblitt, '73


Peter Doenges,'69
Glen Raque,'69
Ken Susnjara, '69


Bruce Cahill, '70
Gregory J. Dawe, '71
Paul L Wycoff, '66


Fred Clayton, '70
Richard Christman, '72


John Malmquist, '69
William Gurley, '70
Edward McDevitt, '68


David Poole, '69
Joseph Rodriguez, Jr., '71
Dennis Smith, '71
Charles M. Boesenberg, '70


W. K. "Ken" Burkhart, '69
Don M. Ings, '70
W. John Weinhardt, '72


Dennis C. Banks, '70
J. Q. Delap Jr., '70
Steven C. Goble, '71
Russell F. Sparks, '70


Michael A. Mussalleum, '74
Gregory M. Shutske, '71
Charles E. Sweeney, '72
D. Craig Winn, '73


Jerry W. Bissey, '72
David Burgner, '72
Mark M. Campbell, '72
Robert J. Marks II, '72
Mark T. Owens, '72


R. Scott Koehne, '73
Dan Price, '75
David L. Robinson, '73


James K. Gilman, '74
L. Michael Mueller, '75
Dennis J. Paustenbach, '74
Douglas S. Winner, '74


Mark D. Pierce, '75
Steve A. Eisenbrown, '76
Warren L. Mickens, '77
Michael L. Patrick, '75


Michael R. Gambrell, '76
Brad C. Hunt, '76
David S. Jones, '77
Brian D. McCarty, '76


Rob Banerjee, '78
Michael Huff, '78
Jerry Matthews, '77
Richard Stanley, '78


Joseph Doner, '78
Dennis Grannan, '79
Erik Jansen, '78
Jeffrey McCreary, '79
Allen Shipp, '78
Earl Stalter, '79


Steve Darbin, '79
Steve Gillman, '79
Jim Huston, '80
Doug Stearley, '79


Joe Haniford, '80
Tim Jackson, '79
Chuck Sigman, '80
Donald J.Umpleby, '80
Eric Viscito, '80


David Boodt, '81
David Hannum, '81
Steve H. Jenison, '81
Steve Kennedy, '81


Larry Alldredge, '82
Curt Bilby, '81
Ben Brian, '82
Eric Mooney, '82


Andy Meyer, '83
Steve Nowak, '83
Jeff Trang, '83
Ralph Wagle, '83


Mickey Hines, '84
Joe Kunkel, '84
Gregg Lowe, '84
William Martini, '84


Mark Federle, '85
Jeff Gilbert, '85
Morgan Tharp, '85
Thomas VanderLaan, '85


Richard Correll '86
David Lakey, M.D. '86
Steven Maier '86
Robert Nordyke '86


John Lueken ’87
Darin Moody ’87
Michael Radomsky ’87
Gregory J. Smith ’87


Doug Ankney, '88
Andy Williams, '88
Nathan Wright, '88


Evan Kokoska, '89
David J. Reynolds, '89
Floyd M. Yager, '89
Brenton C. Young, '89


Brian Runkle, '90
Barry Schneider, '90
Michael Hoffa, '90


Todd Brown, '91
Michael Crist, '91
Joseph Matthews, '91


Jason Karlen ’92
Christopher Lanker '92
Kenneth Koziol '92
Jack Mayo '92


Steven Bakota '93
Jeffrey Haggerty '93
Jeff Papa '93


Greg Hubbard '94
David Olivencia '94
Scott Slisher '94
Todd Wilkerson '94